Irony in the Name

In January I started playing with the idea of starting an Etsy shop. I like making things with wood and I thought this would be a good challenge to grow in my skills and gain creativity in making new things. As I was brainstorming names I settled on Cozywood being a part of the name. I liked how it sounded and it combines two things I love, working with wood and being comfortable. When it comes to building, I desire to make things that create a comfortable and warm atmosphere; a place I want to be and a place where our guests feel welcomed. I love cuddling up in a blanket on the couch and connecting with Chris about our day, what we’re learning, hard things, the future. I love getting cozy to read blogs or watch tv so I can decompress. And while we believe a warm and welcoming place is not depended on the look, but on the company, what I create in our home does contribute to the atmosphere.

After coming up with the name my desire to blog came back. As I talked about in my previous post, at first I had the wrong motives for blogging. When I changed my mindset I realized that I want to blog for the challenge. Now looking at the name I see so much irony in it. While I find challenge in the wood and in creating new things, there isn’t challenge in comfort. This week I came across this quote and it resonated with me: “A comfort zone is a beautiful place, but nothing ever grows there.” I see this to be very true in my life. When I get too comfortable, I don’t grow and I find that I am dissatisfied. I need challenge and that is what pushes me to grow. Something beautiful about challenge is that over time we can find comfort in it. I know the times I have moved there were challenges: making new friends, becoming a part of a church community, learning how to do my job. While it was hard to do some of these things, over time I made them my comfort zone. I think this can be easier for some than others. When it comes to moving I have found that I am content where I am, but in other areas of challenge I have a harder time finding comfort.

As I look at the two sides that this name represents, I am encouraged to seek challenge and to strive to make it my comfort zone, and when I do, I look forward to finding new challenges. Sometimes we grow in an area and it sticks with us. Other times we grow in an area, but stop giving it so much attention after we have reached a certain level of achievement. But when we stop practicing, we lose it and then the comfort becomes a challenge again. I have seen this in many areas of my life. In photography, there were times I consistently studied how to use my camera, how the setting worked, how to edit pictures, etc. When I stopped using my camera regularly, I remembered some of the basics, but I needed to relearn several things. I have found this to be true in my faith as well. When I spend time reading the Bible, I am more knowledgeable about who God is, where certain passages are, and I can recall what I’ve read and apply the principles I’ve learned to life circumstances. But when I am not in God’s Word, I forget and I am challenged to rediscover. With all that being said, I hope for this blog to be a place where I can discover new things and rediscover forgotten things. A place where I can make the challenge my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

