First Mets Game of the Year

Growing up I went to a lot of professional baseball games. My aunt had season tickets and it was a fun family outing. We would buy our peanuts outside of the stadium, bring in our Twizzlers, and enjoying cheering on the Detroit Tigers. My aunt always said she was going to marry the mascot Paws so she could become Mrs. Paws. Over the years I not only learned the game, but I loved doing the score sheets. So much so that when I was home in the summer from college I would do the books for the church softball team my dad and brother were on.

I am so thankful that I grew up enjoying baseball games because my husband is obsessed with the New York Mets. This weekend we went to our first game since moving back and it was so much fun! We went with Chris’s dad and brother, Josh. While the Mets lost, there were some thrilling moments in the game. And it was a beautiful night for a ball game.

IMG_1437

IMG_1432

As we were at the stadium, it was fun to reflect on the fact that the last time we were there, we were dating. We had dated long distance during Chris’s Senior year in college. After he graduated I came out to visit and as a graduation gift I conspired with his mom to get surprise tickets to a game. Someone accidentally spilled the beans to him the night before, but he was still surprised. We had a great time cheering on the Mets and just being together. It was also excited to remember that the next time we would see each other we would be living in the same city. And thinking of our first game, the same day a year later we got engaged. This picture from our first game is one of my all time favorites of us.

IMG_0742 - Copy - Copy

I love how going to places can spark up so many great memories.

Leave a Reply

