Garage Sale Finds

Yesterday I posted about a garage sale I coordinated for our summer mission trip to Mexico. I don’t get how we do this every year and continue to fill up the same amount of space. It made me want to never buy things so I don’t accumulate so much stuff, yet I created quite the pile of things to take home. A perk of being in charge is that I get to see a lot of the stuff first and set it aside if I want it. However, most of the items I took home I pulled the day of the sale. With so much stuff there were many things I never saw. I also did a final sweep before we packed things up for the thrift store. Here are some of the things I got:

CWL April 2014-23

  1. A pitcher. I don’t know what it was about this pitcher, but I fell in love with it. I think it reminds me of Africa and since Chris has been there several times I thought it would be a good reminder of his trips in our home. And someone was very sweet to purchase this for me so I am very thankful.
  2. Teal container. I didn’t see this until half way through the sale and wondered why I hadn’t snatched it early. It matches the colors of our apartment so well. Right now it is sitting on the kitchen counter storing tea lights that were overtaking our junk drawer.
  3. Sorry. Who doesn’t love this game! My family played this all the time growing up and it’s a game I want my kids to play. Plus it has never been opened!
  4. Bike. This bike reminds me of our time in Fresno. One of the families we were close with are cyclers and had a bike similar to this in their home. So for me it’s a sweet reminder of our time in Fresno (and a reminder that we need to go on a ride! Though the roads here scary me compared to the ones in California).
  5. Juicer. This was one of the first items to be dropped off at the sale. I talked to the previous owner and she said they only used it once and were donating it because they never used it. I immediately took it from her, set it aside and wrote my name on the box. Chris and I have been wanting to try juicing, but they are so expensive, so I was happy to snag this one for $15.
  6. Crate. This crate is divided into 8 storage sections. I plan on refinishing it, but I don’t know exactly what I will use it for.
  7. Mindsets. I borrowed this book from my Fresno family a year ago, but only read 70 pages before we moved and I had to give it back. When we were dropping things off at the thrift store (which I wasn’t originally supposed to be at) I saw it on top of a book box and snatched it fast! I love this book. It talks about having a fixed mindset (which I tend to have) versus a growth mindset (which I want to have). I highly recommend it. You can find it here.
  8. Two vases (not pictured). I grabbed two glass vases and hope to dress them up a little bit and use them to decorate… whenever we get around to doing more of that.

CWL April 2014-24

CWL April 2014-25

CWL April 2014-26

 

Leave a Reply

