Living and Active Challenge

LAButton

Last year I participated in the Living and Active Challenge hosted by Clare at Peak313 and this year’s challenge starts next Monday! I’m really excited to start this, even though I know it’s going to be hard, because I really want/need to start exercising regularly. Plus this will help me beat Chris and Josh in our most-ripped-by-Christmas bet.

There are several components to this 5 week challenge. First is to exercise 4 times a week for a minimum of 25 minutes. Clare will provide workout options or you can do your own thing. Second is the spiritual element of memorizing a Bible verse every week. Clare got the idea of “living and active” from Hebrews 4:12. Her passion is for everyone to be living and active in their faith and in their health. Third is an accountability component. Every week you check in on her website. She encourages people to find someone to do the challenge with so they can keep each other accountable. While this would be helpful for me, last year I ran off internal motivation to concur. I see it as a competition against my laziness and I want to win! For those who complete each week and do the weekly check ins, there are prizes available to win at the end. While this is a nice perk, I know I won’t win, so that’s not a motivating factor for me, just a bonus if it were to happen. She also encourages you to take before and after pictures to document your progress. I like taking measurements and weighing myself too. I did all of that at the beginning of this month for our Christmas bet and since I haven’t done much since then, I’m going to use those pictures and measurements for this too. I while check them again at the end of the 5 weeks.

Fitness is something I really enjoy, but when I get out of the habit I dread it because I know how much work it requires to get back to where I want to be. I’m hoping this challenge will be the kick start I need to establish better workout habits. I know that when I workout consistently I feel better. Not only am I more confident in how I look, but I have so much more energy and I sleep better too.

So if you are looking for something to do, whether you workout consistently or not, this is a great challenge to try!

4 thoughts on “Living and Active Challenge

  1. I’m pretty active in terms of fitness and keeping in shape. I think it helps to find music you love to listen to when you work out, and eat healthily. Eating healthy definitely motivates you to maintain a healthier lifestyle in general. I always buy new music I love if I’m struggling to work out. I think it’s a worthwhile investment in my fitness!

    Jill Pohl
    visionsofjillhanna.com

  2. Pingback: Get ‘Er Done {September Review & October Goals} | thecozywoodlife

  3. Pingback: Get ‘Er Done {October Review & November Goals} | thecozywoodlife

Leave a Reply

